Thror’s Map

This was a little project I made a while ago using a feather quill and some paper that had been ‘aged’ using coffee. The aim was to recreate the map from The Hobbit, a popular book by J. R. R. Tolkien, known for his incredible trilogy “The Lord of the Rings”, the “Silmarillion”, “The Hobbit” and many other stories.

The project was using some dip inks I had just bought as I have an interest in Typography and fountain pens, and I wanted to try using some older techniques. Overall I spent just over 3 hours for the artwork and writing and enjoyed every minute of it, except the constant threat that the dip pen would release the river of ink it held in to a horrible blob on the page(10 points if you saw what I did there). I hope you like it as much as I do, I hope to eventually create a map of Middle Earth eventually, or perhaps just smaller segments of middle earth.

Scan_0001
Thror’s Map (The Hobbit)
Leave a Reply

